Church of the Holy Apostles
Several churches were removed following the excavation of the modern neighborhoods overlying the Agora. The Church of the Holy Apostles, because of its early date, was deemed worth preserving and, indeed, restoring (Figs. 67–70; for location, see Fig. 41). Dated to the years around A.D. 1000, the church underwent successive additions over the centuries, especially at the west end. The original plan is unique: a standard cross-in-square arrangement, but with apses at each of the four ends of the cross. The central dome is supported on four interior columns. The outer walls are adorned with decorative brickwork known as "kufic" (Arabic writing developed in the city of Kufa). The fragments of frescoes inside are of the 17th century, some from this building and the rest recovered from other churches in the area.